top of page

Blackberry {Hand} Pie


In a few days, I'm starting the #SeptemberWhole30 reset. If you're unfamiliar with Whole30, it's a 30 day eating plan that eliminates a number of "problem foods" from your diet: dairy, grains, legumes, sugar, processed foods and a number of other items. I tried my first Whole30 a year and a half ago. I saw improved energy, better digestion, more alertness and I got to do it all while trying new food.

I'm excited to start another Whole30 - this next month leads up to the first half-marathon I've planned to run. It also will be refreshing to transition from the lazy summer habits I've fallen into and get back to a healthy, satisfying routine.

All that being said, I have a few more days where I can indulge in some sweet treats. (Disclaimer: gorging or binge eating sugar, prior to your Whole30 is not encouraged. That's not what I'm promoting here!)

But, in spite of the crazy weather we've been having, our blackberry plants were producing berries faster than we could eat them. Man, are those little guys delicious! There's a sweet pleasure in picking one right off the vine and popping it into your mouth.

We picked the last of the berries off the vines this week. We ate them fresh, right out of a bowl. Sometimes, I added them to a lettuce salad, but this week, I was craving something sweet and tart. As usual, though, I was short on time and patience - which never leads to a successful baking project.

A quick search on Pinterest led me to this recipe for these adorable little hand pies - and it called for refrigerated (read: store-bought, pre-made) pie crust. {Thank you, Baking Fairy!}

I am sure there are tons of recipes out there that claim to be quick, easy and simple, but this one really is.

First, mix all of the ingredients for the filling with the berries. You might want to cut some of those guys in half if they are really plump. Otherwise, your end result will look lumpy or the filling will ooze out of your crust. I'll let you decide if that's a bad thing or not!

Set aside the filling mixture and roll out your pie crust on a well-floured surface. You want the dough to be about 1/8" - 1/4" thick.

Use a round cookie cutter or another round template to cut out 6" circles from the crust. I used a Pyrex bowl and cut around it with a small knife. Continue rolling your crust out until you have enough small circles for your hand pies.

Next, spoon the filling mixture onto half of each circle. Fold in half and press the edges closed. You can use your fingers or a fork if you'd like. I used a lemon zester, just to give the crust a pretty little polka dot detail.

Cut 2 - 3 small slits in the top of each crust. Brush with egg wash and dust with sugar. Bake at 375 degrees for 20 minutes.

I'm a bit disappointed that our blackberry vines are done producing, but this sure is a sweet way to remember them until next year!

These little pies are the perfect single serving, sweet treat. The fresh, homegrown blackberries add just enough tasty tartness to each bite. In just a few days, sugar will be off limits. That means, all of these little pies have to be eaten before then! I can't imagine we will have a problem with that.

Find the original recipe here.

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Hi there!

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Houzz - Black Circle
I'm Kelsey - an electrical engineer in Indiana trying to get the most out of life. Join me as I stumble my way through working 40+ hours a week in an office and trying to create a life I love out of what I do. I can, because I think I can.

search this site

@engineerthatcould

subscribe

bottom of page