top of page

The Key to Productive Weekends

My husband is a go-getter. That man does not know the meaning of "relax" - at least, he defines it differently than most! We have found in the past four years that productivity even in our "off hours" is key for a happy marriage - well, for our happy marriage, that is!

At first, this seems a little crazy, and I may have already lost some of you. Weekends and holidays for relaxing, lazing around or going on fun, new adventures. Nobody really wants to spend their free time on home improvement projects, mindless chores and honey-do lists.

Bear with me for just a moment though.

It took us a little while to figure out our groove when we first got married - especially after we moved into our new home. We both work 40+ hours a week, we have two dogs to care for, 4 acres with a garden and a house to maintain and we'd like to have a social life somewhere in there! At first, we spent most weekends with friends and at different activities, carefree and relaxed, and came home Sunday evening to fall into bed and head back to work the next morning.

I quickly started feeling stressed during the week. It seemed like every evening after work was a furious, harried effort just to catch up. Dinner on the table, dishes in the dishwasher, catch up on laundry, find an outfit for tomorrow, take a shower and fall into bed. Repeat. Eventually, we'd have to buckle down and clean the messy house or do yard work - which was overwhelming because we had let it go so long.

Since then, we make an effort on most weekends to be somewhat productive - this allows us enjoy all of our evenings together, and it doesn't leave me facing Monday with a lump in my throat. Obviously, it's important to still make time to relax, have fun, travel, spend time with loved ones and just enjoy yourself. Here are a few tips that help me find a balance that works for me.

1. Set an alarm

Photo by Sanah Suvarna on Unsplash

Often times, I am awake before my alarm even goes off. But I still have a weekend alarm setting on my phone. You don't have to wake up at the crack of dawn - but getting up and getting moving (before lunch time) is the first step to getting things done!

2. Eat Breakfast

This goes for lunch too. I find that if I don't eat fairly normal meals on the weekend, I end up snacking all day long. Usually, my snack choices are not healthy ones. This doesn't just kill a diet plan - it doesn't do a great job of fueling the body for the day. It's also time consuming and distracting if you're running to the refrigerator or driving through Starbucks every hour or so.

3. Keep the TV Off

I (try to!) leave my cell phone on the charger or in the bedroom as well. Even if you think it's just background noise, the television can really slow down any chores or projects you are working on. It's often distracting and can cause you to lose focus. If I'm craving background noise, I turn on some music to help stay motivated.

4. Keep the End in Sight

It helps to set personal goals for just how long you are going to be productive. Depending on what kinds of tasks you are trying to accomplish, this could be a time of day or it could be based on how many things you check off your list. For example: I'm going to work in the garden until 3:00 this afternoon. Or: I need to get two loads of laundry done and dinner in the oven, then I can relax. Having a target keeps you focused on the task at hand, and it ensures that you will make time to enjoy yourself a little as well!

He knows how to relax.

Remember, not all productivity is boring or painful either. Sometimes, it could be a fun house project like hanging a gallery wall or refurbishing some furniture. It can also be something you do with others, like planting new landscaping or walking the dog. The point is to take something that will just dwell there, in the back of your mind, nagging at you, and knock it out. This will make the rest of your free time much more enjoyable and carefree.

Put your feet up!

Now, get out there and enjoy your weekend!

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Hi there!

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Houzz - Black Circle
I'm Kelsey - an electrical engineer in Indiana trying to get the most out of life. Join me as I stumble my way through working 40+ hours a week in an office and trying to create a life I love out of what I do. I can, because I think I can.

search this site

@engineerthatcould

subscribe

bottom of page