top of page

Party Planning 101

Summer seems to quickly fill up with parties and picnics and bonfires galore. We don't have a free weekend until August! I love getting invites to social events, and I have pinned so many snacks and potluck dishes - I'm sure I will never make all of them. When we go to any party or social gathering, I can't help but think about all of the planning and preparation that went into it.

I know that each event has it's own flavor - there are quick and casual pop-up parties, impromptu cookouts over the grill, carefully choreographed kids birthday parties, formal evening dinners - you get the picture.

No matter the occasion, there are a few basics that every party needs to be a roaring success.

1. A Host / Hostess

Merriam-Webster defines a host as "one that provides facilities for an event or function." It's important to remember when you are hosting guests that your main goal is to provide for them. This means everything from food + drink to seating to basic shade and shelter while they are your guests. I know that many events are "potluck" or "BYOB" and I realize that providing for a large number of guests can get expensive. But what people will remember most when they leave your party is how it made them feel. Were they comfortable? Crowded? Did you have water on a hot day, or did they get thirsty? Did they have somewhere to hang their coat, or did they have to carry it around with them all day? Sometimes, it's easy to get caught up in the fun of your party and you forget to play host or hostess for your visitors. I think you'll find that, if you make an effort to make your guests happy, you will get even more pleasure out of your social affairs.

2. A Parking Plan

Unless you are hosting your event at a location with a parking lot, make sure you have a clear plan for your guests regarding drop-off and parking. There is nothing more stressful than circling a neighborhood trying to find a spot, and nothing more frustrating than trying to find the person who parked behind you when you need to leave. If your guests arrive at your party stressed and frustrated, they are already starting off on a sour note, and this could change their entire experience at your event.

3. Plenty of Food

In this case - bigger is definitely better. Seriously - one of the most frustrating things to me at a party or event is when I walk up to the buffet or the dessert table and see...6 cupcakes sitting on a plate. I mean, really, I'm not going to be the person to take one of those 6 cupcakes! Now, I tend to swing way too far to the other end of the spectrum when I host parties, and end up with a lot of leftovers. This works for me - I enjoy fixing food and trying new recipes, so the effort that goes into preparing a lot of food is worth it. I'm not saying you need to plan to feed an army at every event. But I do encourage you to evaluate your spread carefully - make sure all of your dishes look well stocked, fresh and appetizing, and they are easy to serve. Remember - people are going to remember how they felt, and you don't want them to leave hungry or disappointed because those cute little macarons were gone by the time they got to the table.

There are so many fun and festive things that go into planning a party - decorations, themed food selections, favors, invites and all of the little personal touches to go along with it. Regardless of the theme or the occasion, if you can get the basics covered and the logistics worked out, then all of your hard work will be rewarded with a party that people remember.

Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Hi there!

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Houzz - Black Circle
I'm Kelsey - an electrical engineer in Indiana trying to get the most out of life. Join me as I stumble my way through working 40+ hours a week in an office and trying to create a life I love out of what I do. I can, because I think I can.

search this site

@engineerthatcould

subscribe

bottom of page